Simple Voltage Regulator and Wiring Question

geratheg

Joined Jul 11, 2014
I've never used a voltage regulator before and am somewhat new to circuits.
I'm curious about an LM78xx voltage regulator, if you connect the input and ground pins to the voltage source, without connecting the output pin will the regulator heat up?

The reason I'm asking is I'm curious whether the ground pin is necessary on it if the circuit will be close (if the output pin was connected of course) with just the input and output voltage?

Also an unrelated question about wiring a switch. Do you usually wire it to the positive (red) wire or to the black wire and why if it will work both ways?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Also an unrelated question about wiring a switch. Do you usually wire it to the positive (red) wire or to the black wire and why if it will work both ways?
I assume you are referring to DC supply system.
It is probably a precautionary measure in case the common or negative is connected to a ground or chassis etc, if the common contacts earth ground either accidentally or by design, there is still a potential from the +rail to any bare chassis points.
In low voltage systems it is not really a concern, mostly done just as normal practice.
Max.

geratheg

Joined Jul 11, 2014
In an LM78xx voltage regulator, if you connect the input and ground pins to the voltage source, without connecting the output pin will the regulator heat up?
I'm just curious, can the ground pin be connected or does the ground pin need to be disconnected while the regulator is not in use (the output pin is not connected)?

Last edited:

Lestraveled

Joined May 19, 2014
In an LM78xx voltage regulator, if you connect the input and ground pins to the voltage source, without connecting the output pin will the regulator heat up?
If the LM78XX has the proper bypass capacitors around it, it will not heat up if the output pin is disconnected. See the data sheet for information on the bypass capacitors.