Simple rgb led controller. Help needed.

yeeshima

Joined Dec 21, 2013
Hello there, first off i would like to thank you for your time in reading this.
I have to admit i am very new to circuitry and could use any help that is given.
Ok now on to the question. I have an idea of what seems to be a very simple circuit but i have searched and searched with no luck. I am looking to make a circuit that will control around 6-10 in parallel rgb led (4 prongs) cathode or anode.it doesn't matter. I was hoping to run it off of one maybe 2 cr2032 button cell batteries. and it have one momentary push button (such as the type that turns on and off a computer(i don't know the name)). This is the criteria i wish it to meet (well more of how it is used)...

1. press the button once and it turns on to one of 3 colors red,green,blue

2. press button again turns to one of the other colors that number 1. was not

3. press button again and turns the led to last of the 3 that wasnt used in 1 or 2

4. optional press again and fades through the diff colors in random

5. last press turns unit off

Thank you in advance for all your help!!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
How good are you at programming microprocessors?

Seriously. I'm good with discrete design but this would require a whole page of stuff to do it without a microprocessor.

yeeshima

Joined Dec 21, 2013
Hello #12,Thank you for a speedy response...
To answer your question i have never even tried i have heard of it but i don't know the first thing about it...
That being said i am ready to study and find out how to do it.
When i said i was new i meant it :)..

yeeshima

Joined Dec 21, 2013
Alec_t that is fine by me.... In the project i am working on a few hours will suffice. and if it doesn't i will find another means of power.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Yes, another source of power will be needed since blue LEDs typically require 3.3 volts and a 2032 battery only makes 3 volts.

amirsami

Joined Dec 19, 2013
Hi yeeshima,