Simple RF Transmitter/Receiver?

yugi4542

Joined Jan 30, 2014
So I'm relatively new to electronics and I'm slowly working my knowledge base up. I had an idea for a project, but I don't know where to find the resources to help me figure out what to do or what components I need.

I'm a waiter, and I want to create a small on-off switch that I can hand to one of my tables. When the switch is flipped, a radio transmitter would be activated inside, which would broadcast to the matching receiver on my wrist, turning an LED on (so that I am now aware that my table needs me).

I can have up to three tables at one time, so I'll be using three separate transmitters to light up three LEDs that are independent of each other. I'm fairly confident that once I can get one transmitter/receiver combination working, I should be able to get all three working on different frequencies, and from there I should be able to make the final circuits.

I know my way around basic circuits, but I'm totally new to radio signals. If anyone has any pointers on where to start on this or can tell me what ICs I should be looking at, I would greatly appreciate it! I've been Googling and searching this forum for three hours and everything I find is either *way* too complex for my application, or uses paper cups with wires wrapped around them. I need something simple, but precise so I can rely on it.

Thank you! :D I look forward to getting to know all of you as I get better at this!

{TL;DR: I need to build three radio transmitters, and one receiver that can receive a single-tone signal from each of the three transmitters.}

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010