Simple question

arcticocean

Joined Feb 3, 2013
Hello everyone, im new to electronics and though I am making some progress (slow) i need to find a little help with this question:

-In this figure, what value of R2 will make the voltage at the junction of R1 and R2 3V?

I have guessed the correct answer of 100k Ohms but want to know how the calculation / Formula for this should work.

The circuit is a series circuit with two resistors, one has the given value of 300k Ohms (R1) the other is the required value (R2) supply voltage is 12V

Many thanks for anyone that can help with an explanation.

Bob

Edit: I may have got something wrong with adding the image of the photo, I notice that if I right click on the above icon and select open in another tab it will open the image of the circuit that is in a Picasa public web album

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
There are a number of ways of tackling this, but consider this one:

Q1) If you have the desired voltage at the junction of the two resistors, what is the voltage that is dropped across R1?

Q2) Given the answer to Q1 and the value of R1, what is the current flowing in R1?

Q3) Given the answer to Q2, what is the current in R2?

Q4) What is the voltage dropped across R2?

Q5) Given the answers to Q3 and Q4, what is the resistance of R2?

Another better route, because it results in a more general answer, would be the following:

Using this same circuit topology, given unknown values of R1 and R2 (i.e., they are just two variable at this point) that are connected across an unknown voltage source Vo (i.e., another variable). What is the current, Io, that is flowing in the circuit? Given that current, what is the voltage, Vout, at the junction of the two resistors?

At this point, you will have an equation that relates Vout to Vo, R1 and R2 (the Io should have dropped out). If you know any three of the four (such as Vout=3V, Vo=12V, and R1=300kΩ), then you can solve for the fourth (such as R2).

arcticocean