Simple disk spinner

g314

Joined Jan 12, 2014
Hi,

I'm really new to electronics and have a little project to start learning, I came across this forum which I hope can help.

The idea is to make a desktop clock.

I have made two cardboard disks, one for hours and one for minutes.

The disks are circles with the numbers around the outside, this then clips onto another bit of cardboard with a window to show the current hour / minute

I've had a look into how I can spin the disks and read about stepping motors and timers plus variable resisters to slow the motor down to the right speed but don't really know where to start. I don't want to buy all the wrong stuff and waste a stack of money, even though it should be cheap enough?

Ideally, something that just turns x degrees every hour would be good, I guess there are loads of ways this can be done?

Any advise would be appreciated,

Here is the drawing to explain how the disks work, this is just the "hour" one:

Thanks

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
In fact, if you think of it, the stepper of any disk is to be iddle most of the time and just move quite "fast" when rotating its disk to bring the next figure to the window. You do not want, I guess, two figures showing at the same time in a window, no matter they are hours or minutes. Not pleasant to see and most probably, confusing.

The "hours" stepper will do it, once in 60 minutes. The "minutes" stepper will do it once in 60 seconds.

You need kind of a somewhat complex setup with logic gates and timers to: adjust the time once (upon start), keep the time and show the sucessive values.

Otherwise, you will need a micro.

Could you rethink your original idea?

g314

Joined Jan 12, 2014
Thanks for the quick reply!

That does sound quite complex,

I was hoping I could attach a motor on the back of the spinning disk and make it rotate x degrees every 1 hour with a timer perhaps?