Simple 2-port USB 2.0 Hub

fkento

Joined Jul 9, 2012
I am trying to build a 2-port USB 2.0 Hub. I found a Cypress Chip that I think will do the trick.

Cypress TUSB2036VFR

Is it just as simple as connecting the Power, GND, D- and D+ lines to the upstream and downstream ports? Or do I need any resistors to connect to the other lines? This will be integrated into another project so the downstream devices will the hard wired in. The hub will be bus-powered. Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks
Kent

fkento

Joined Jul 9, 2012
Yes but I am a newbie. When it says a pin needs to be pulled high or low what does that mean? I assume pulled low means connected to ground? What does pulled high mean? Connected to +3.3v? Do I need pull-up or pull-down resistors? Is "pulled to logic 1" the same as pulled high?

I think I need to pull down pin 8 (BUSPWR) to enable bus-powered mode. Also, for 2 downstream ports, pin 24 (NP3) needs to be pulled high. Pins 22 & 23 (NPINT1-0) need to be pulled high to indicate permanently attached devices.

Now I am uncertain about what to do with the following pins

Pin 4 (RESET)
Pin 31 (MODE)
Pin 21 (OCPROT)

Thanks
Kent

agesome

Joined Jul 5, 2012
There is a typical application circuit on page 9 of the datasheet.
Your understanding of pulling up/down is correct, there is also the wikipedia article.

Datasheet is your friend.
RESET is an active low TTL input with hysteresis and must be asserted at power up. When RESET is asserted, all logic is initialized. Generally, a reset with a pulse width between 100 μs and 1 ms is recommended after 3.3-V
VCC reaches its 90%. Clock signal has to be active during the last 60 μs of the reset window.
Which means you have to pull it down for the specified amount of time after the supply voltage is stable. Power-on reset devices can be used for this. They are cheap, small and ensure your IC doesn't attempt to work under low voltage, which can be bad.