simple 2 npn amp wont work

chunkmartinez

Joined Jan 6, 2007
For fun I've constructed this simple amp: http://www.eleccircuit.com/simple-preamplifier-circuits-by-transistors/

The one with 2 bc547s. It dosn't work at all. Yes I have studdied transistors and biasing and design etc but i'm still a newb to it.

Is this circuit bs? I built it exactly as it should be. The grammar on that page is bad so maybe I shouldn't expect a good result? Btw, I used an 8 ohm .1w speaker on the output and a laptop for the input. Is it possible the laptop voltage signal is much too small? My oscope said the audio voltage from my laptop was under a volt in the millivolt range but I cannot recall the actual voltage.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
That is a preamplifer to amplify low level signals to a higher level. It is designed to feed the high impedance input of another amplifier, not the low impedance of a speaker. For that you need a power audio amplifier.

chunkmartinez

Joined Jan 6, 2007
That is a preamplifer to amplify low level signals to a higher level. It is designed to feed the high impedance input of another amplifier, not the low impedance of a speaker. For that you need a power audio amplifier.
my mistake i'm very new to amp circuits..

SPQR

Joined Nov 4, 2011
Do you know that it is "high impedance" because of the capacitor in the output?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
For me, the clue is mostly R6. No matter how hard Q2 works, the output voltage can only be raised as much as R6 will allow (compared to the load resistance).

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
For me, the clue is mostly R6. No matter how hard Q2 works, the output voltage can only be raised as much as R6 will allow (compared to the load resistance).
Yeah, R6. I missed the part where the OP said the "two transistor amp" and I didn't look past the first circuit on the link.

SPQR

Joined Nov 4, 2011

Ok, so the 10k between the + and collector.