Silly noob question: Driving a 12v solenoid valve with a 9v battery

mcgski

Joined May 6, 2009
OK folks, I'm just getting started with some ideas and have little or no experience with building a circuit board. I'd like to build a pneumatic device that is driven by a solenoid valve that gets opened when a signal comes over a wireless device (XBee Pro). I saw a video on adafruit.com on the XBee. In the video a battery box was supplying the power for the XBee and the relay. Got me thinking about the pneumatic valve and when I started looking around all I could find was a 12v DC that consumes 3-6.5w of power.

solenoid valve URL here.

Now like I said, I'm new to IC design and electrical theory so I may need a little encouragement and/or a push in the right direction. Even a "what are you crazy!?!" would let me know I'm barking up the wrong tree. I know enough about batteries that I could string a bunch of them together but I'm trying to keep the package small and light, hence the 9v concept.

My first question is can I use a battery pack for this application? The XBee I think is a 3.3v-5v device so I know a 9v will work. What about the 12v solenoid valve? I was thinking of having the relay "switch" the valve when it gets the signal from the XBee device. That way the valve is "dumb" and is controlled by the digital signal it's getting from the XBee which in turn gets it signal from some distance.

Any thoughts on a direction here? I'm more than willing to read up if someone can point me to the right beginners guide or some advice on how to get started.

Thanks in advance for the help.

gryskop

Joined Mar 1, 2008
Depending on what pressure you want to control (lets assume for this case max up to 60 PSI) the solenoid draws 3Watt. For a 9volt battery that would require (P=VI, thus I=P/V = 3/9 = 333.3mA). For instantaneous operation (1-3sec) the 9 Volt may work, but for long time operation 1m to x hours, that poor 9 Volt will die a cruel and unnatural death. :D