Shift registers how is serial data converted to serial out....

nepdeep

Joined Sep 14, 2011
Hi , I studied about serial in serial out shift registers. Yes when followed the steps sequentially, it does so...but eg. if i input 1011 at serail in....i would get 1000 the first time
1100 the second time
0110 the third and
1011 on the fourth time only.

Now my question is...the data is seen only after four clock cycles...and untill then...till three cycles...wrong data is seen....untill three clock cycles...so how do we give just the fourth data out ....and prevent the first three datas...from being outputed...?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
That is not how serial shift registers work.
The serial output only reveals one bit at a time.
What do you mean by "the data is seen only after four clock cycles"?
After four clock cycles, the serial output is 1.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Hi , I studied about serial in serial out shift registers. Yes when followed the steps sequentially, it does so...but eg. if i input 1011 at serail in....i would get 1000 the first time
1100 the second time
0110 the third and
1011 on the fourth time only.

Now my question is...the data is seen only after four clock cycles...and untill then...till three cycles...wrong data is seen....untill three clock cycles...so how do we give just the fourth data out ....and prevent the first three datas...from being outputed...?
I think you mean a serial to parallel shift register? Otherwise, as MrChips has stated, you will have either a 0 or 1 on your output at any one point in time.

If you are meaning a shift register with parallel output, then the output cannot be prevented from changing while data is shifted in. What you can do, however, is to get a shift register with output latches, which allow you to latch data to the output after X clock cycles. So the external circuit would only see transitions from previously valid data to valid data....

nepdeep

Joined Sep 14, 2011