Setting the frequency of microcontroller

hc8th

Joined Jul 14, 2009
Hi all, need some help here, as i'm new to uc i have a few problems of how to use it properly, i'm capturing som signal using uc, the signal is 135Hz max, how i can set the prescaler of the uc to match the capture signal so that i could take som measurement? the signal is a digital pulse (50-50 duty cycle)
thanks to all.....

kkazem

Joined Jul 23, 2009
HI hc8th,

The answer to your question is that you wouldn't. In other words, capturing a 135 Hz 50% duty cycle digital signal with your uC depends very little on the uC clock frequency. It depends on what your trying to capture also. Are you trying to measure the digital input's frequency or it's duty cycle, or it's pulse-width? for some of those, depending on the uC you use, if the clock is fairly slow, like 1 MHz, then the accuracy of your measured digital signal will degrade a bit versus using a 100MHz clocked uC.