Senior Project Help, related to Power MOSFETS

Farringa

Joined Dec 6, 2008
My friend and I have been working on our Senior Project for about six months now, and are just about out of ideas. This is our project:

We are making a model Power Transmission system, to show what the power company needs to do to be able to keep a constant 120VAC at your home. To do this, we are using a 24V, 22A, 2200 RPM, DC Motor to belt drive an alternator we removed from a Grand Prix. The alternator normally puts out ~14V to power your car battery, but we removed the diode pack, and are able to get a three phase voltage on the output (roughly 30VAC phase to phase, once a field current has been applied). When the load on the alternator varries (shown by turning on and off lightbulbs), we can adjust the voltage on the DC Motor to keep the voltage at the homes constant. We know this is a rough model, but this is the general idea.

Using this principle, we decided to automate the process. We thought this would be a difficult circuit to make, but once we sat down and designed the circuit, it ended up being far simpiler than we could have imagined. The circuit can be found here:

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o271/Farringa/Circuit1.jpg

The Control Circuit works. We are able to turn on and off the motor using the potentiometer, and we are able to adjust the AC voltage, and turn on and off the motor. The trouble comes when we connect the motor to the alternator... it seems to be a current issue. But we have tried the following components in place of the IRF250:

FDH44N50
HGTG10N120BND
NTE2389

They all are able to control the motor, and all of them fail when we begin to drive the alternator with the motor. Here are the things we have tried.