Selecting some parts for an H-bridge.

Zycron

Joined Aug 12, 2008
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to build an h-bridge for an inverted pendulum type project (a segway, basically). I've been researching on how to build them (online and bought a book), and I think I'm kind of close to getting it, but I really don't know for sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The project will use two identical 250W 24v / 13.7amp (Unsure of stall current, it's not documented as far as I can tell.) dc motors; Model: MY1016. Total load will be in the vicinity of 200lbs, shared amongst the two motors. The battery is a NiMH 24v / 40amps continuous output at a rating of 4200mAh, so I assume I am within an acceptable range to have both motors run off it exclusively.

The parts I have chosen are listed here: (I believe they all have a much higher rating than needed but I could be wrong, I'm a real newbie here.)

High side (p-channel) MOSFETs: http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/8177/stp80pf55.pdf
Low side (n-channel) MOSFETS: http://www.vishay.com/docs/91328/91328irl.pdf
Half-bridge driver ICs (synchronous, with dead-time built in): http://www.irf.com/product-info/datasheets/data/ir2104.pdf
Diodes (really unsure if these will work correctly): http://www.diodes.com/datasheets/ds23001.pdf