Selecting an AC/DC switching power supply

kballing

Joined Jun 18, 2007
Hello,

I am designing a device that will need to convert from AC (110V 60hz from normal wall socket) to DC power. The device drives two electric motor pumps and a small circuit for timing valves and other pneumatics. I'm very new to all of this but have a basic understanding of electronics. I know that lots of different boards are out there. Each motor requires 12V and about 22W of power. The circuit can run on 5V I also have the option of getting AC versions of the motors. Since I have no experience in this, is there anything in particular I am looking for in an AC/DC switching supply? Is it better to use AC motors over DC? A similar device uses on AC pump and one DC pump. So I'd really appreciate if someone with more experience than I could help me out.

From,
Kyle

P.S. Is in necessary or a good idea to use and additional rectifier before powering my circuit?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Hello,

I am designing a device that will need to convert from AC (110V 60hz from normal wall socket) to DC power. The device drives two electric motor pumps and a small circuit for timing valves and other pneumatics. I'm very new to all of this but have a basic understanding of electronics. I know that lots of different boards are out there. Each motor requires 12V and about 22W of power. The circuit can run on 5V I also have the option of getting AC versions of the motors. Since I have no experience in this, is there anything in particular I am looking for in an AC/DC switching supply? Is it better to use AC motors over DC? A similar device uses on AC pump and one DC pump. So I'd really appreciate if someone with more experience than I could help me out.

From,
Kyle

P.S. Is in necessary or a good idea to use and additional rectifier before powering my circuit?