scope signal adapter

automagp68

Joined Nov 13, 2011
Hi guys quick question

Im a first year EE student and i picked up this old Tektronix 2205 20 mhz scope from an estate sale

In the manual there is some procedure I'm suppose to go through (not named by the manual) for some adjustment purpose assuming that you have the originally included "signal adapters" I can't seem to find a picture of the "signal adapters" anyway and or what they do.

Can someone explain what a signal adapter is for (this scope) and its purpose. I can't seem to find any information on it online.

Also, i noticed that the probe impedance is 1MΩ

All the ones i have seen have been 50Ω

Not sure how this effects the probes. I have about 5 different probes it came with.

Any ideas would be greatly helpful as I'm trying to learn this device and also test its current accuracy.

Thanks

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Im a first year EE student and i picked up this old Tektronix 2205 20 mhz scope from an estate sale
Hard to go wrong with a Tektronix. :)

In the manual there is some procedure I'm suppose to go through (not named by the manual) for some adjustment purpose assuming that you have the originally included "signal adapters" I can't seem to find a picture of the "signal adapters" anyway and or what they do.

Can someone explain what a signal adapter is for (this scope) and its purpose. I can't seem to find any information on it online.
Tek 2205 Service Manual: http://www.danielvg.be/2205_SM.pdf
From page 2-7:
CONNECTING SIGNALS
Signal Adapter
The signal adapter supplied with the instrument is
usually the most convenient way to connect a signal
to the 2205. These signal adapters are shielded to
prevent pickup of electromagnetic interference.
When connected to the 2205 input, a signal adapter
presents 1M Ohm and about 100 pF impedance to the
circuit under test. If this capacitance is disruptive to
the circuit being tested, use the optional 10X probe