Schottky Diode Question

shutterb

Joined May 2, 2013
Hello everyone. This is my first time here. I wanted to ask a quick question.

I am rather new to electronics and am almost done with my first solo project which is a solar battery charger.

My circuit uses a schottky diode to keep the battery from discharging via the panels when it is dark.

For the diode I used Vishay SB120-E3/54. The only issue is when I tested the diode, I got the same voltage both forward and reverse bias. I have several of the same diodes and they all test the same.

To test I placed the diode on the positive side of 1.2v AA battery and metered both forward and reverse. I get the same voltage both ways.

It is my understanding that reversed shouldn't allow anything to pass. Is my understanding wrong here, did I use the wrong part or am I looking at this wrong?

Thanks for your assistance!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
You were measuring the leakage current of the diode with no load, which is apparently more than enough to register on your meter. Add a load resistor to dump the leakage current and you will get a valid reading.

shutterb

Joined May 2, 2013
Thanks for the reply.

Here is my test:

D1 is the Schottky Diode I mentioned before.

When I meter the circuit I am getting 1.24v. When I reverse the diode I get the same 1.24v.

When I swap out the Vishay SB120-E3/54 for a Fairchild 1N4001 I get 1.02v and 0v when reversed.

shutterb

Joined May 2, 2013
Is it possible that the entire lot that I bought could be shot? I tested all of them and they all react the same way.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
You have heard from me. The only thing to do is wait and see if somebody else knows why your test is invalid or I missed something.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
You should use the Ohm's setting(resistance) on your meter to check the diode and it should NOT be powered or in circuit when you check it.