RTOS for pic18f2550

embpic

Joined May 29, 2013
i have done some coding on pic18f2550. but never use RTOS till now. but i want to use and learn about RTOS. I have read about RTOS in college days and i also read in between.
So which RTOS could be better to use??
i am very new to RTOS programming so is there any Tutorials???

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
If you are starting out, you probably should avoid the 8 bit PICs. From FreeRTOS:
Please note that the segmented memory on the PIC18 makes it a less than ideal candidate for use with an RTOS.
FreeRTOS uses C18 which is going obsolete. XC8 with its OCG optimizer won't compile Salvo and many other RTOS's (including my own) at all. If you look through the various offerings, most start with PIC24 and PIC32. These parts have better architectures for task switching. ARM with Keil RTX looks intriguing.

You can learn a lot from the tutorials that go with most RTOSs. FreeRTOS charges for theirs.

Chapter 2 of the free Salvo Manual has a nice overview. If you read and understood this and a few other chapters, you'd be well on your way. AN777 describes a project using Salvo with some good tutorial stuff. Of note is how clean the code can be when task scheduling and communication is done behind the scenes via the OS.

Poke around the Keil RTX site as well.

MicroC OS II by Jean J. Labrosse has its detractors but its a solid introduction with detailed explanations and source code. uCOS won't run on a PIC18 though.

Keep in mind that the term 'RTOS' is frequently misused. Just because it multitasks, its not necessarily 'real time'. Most of the 8 bit PIC ones I have seen/used/written are some variant of cooperative multitasking.

Personally, all my code has some degree of multitasking, even if its just nested state machines. I find it much easier to manage large code that way. Learning something about the basics should pay off handsomely.

Good luck!

Last edited:

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009