Rookie Help (CD, BC, Other)

Houdeani01

Joined Sep 14, 2012
I am new to building more complex circuits but have been playing with the basics for a long time. I am looking for help in which route to take as far as the needs I am looking for. I am leaning towards a Boost controller, constant current driver or Capacitive discharge circuit. The issue is I am not sure what is best suited for my application.

I am building a fireworks controller that have 45 individual firing circuits per module (building around 24 modules) each controlled a IRF540N MosFet (Pulse ratings of 100V and 100A). At each que we will be firing a electronic match which have around a 2ohm resistance rating and have 15 foot leads which and up to be around .7ohms resistance in the wire. These match should fire around 500mA but it is recommended to fire them at 1A.

Now with all that said on each Que we could be firing one of these matches and the base system is 24V which can handle that no problem. However we sometimes want to fire upwards of 20 match in a single hit this is where the 24V falls short. I figured on 24V given the amperage and voltage I can reliably fire up to 9 match in series (Fireworks are always fired in series), what we would like is a module that can fire 20 or more match in a single Que. This means we need to be able to maintain the current of 1A or more but have a voltage much higher than the source.

I have been looking in to Constant Current Drivers and Capacitive Discharge circuits and am not sure the best route to take. What I know I need is a high output voltage but preferable less than the rating on the Mosfets (100V) and a fast recharge rate, we are talking milliseconds. We will fire one Que after another and sometimes with less than a second between firing them and other time minuets between firing them. This immediately discounts a flash circuit of sorts because it would not recharge fast enough to fire matches that quickly.