RLC circuit - transient event

manoh

Joined Jan 1, 2013
Hi, guys.

I've actually done what I had to do, but I have a somewhat easy, fundamental question for you (mind you, I'm not good at Electronics, so please bear with me).

I'm using PSpice to run a simulation on the following circuit:

(A curious thing is that the original circuit of my homework had 2 extra resistors - one above the inductor, and one above the capacitor - but their resistance was 0. I decided not to include them here, since PSpice doesn't allow a circuit to have a resistor with no resistance... Plus, a resistor with 0 resistance sounds silly to me.)

Here we have a circuit with a source of direct current (100V). We have a switch as well, which is initially opened and then closes. I've placed two markers - one to mark the current of the inductor, one to mark the voltage of the capacitor.

The capacitor is initially charged to 100V (that's how I interpret what my homework sheet says: Uc(0-)=100V). That's why I've set the IC variable of the capacitor to 100. I've calculated the initial current through the inductor by dividing the input voltage (100V) by the resistance R1 (0.1k) - which results in 10A initial inductor current. That's why I've set the IC variable of the inductor to 10.

What I wanted to do in PSpice is visualize the transient event itself - I want to see what happens to the iductor current and the capacitor voltage when the switch closes.

Here's what I got...

Inductor current: click, large image.

Hmm, starts at 10 Amps and gradually sets itself to something below zero, I guess that's acceptable. What bothers me is the...

Capacitor voltage: click, large image.

Starts at -100V (I guess I can fix that by setting the IC variable of the capacitor to -100V), jumps up to 700V, then silences itself forever with a voltage of 0.

My question is... is this normal? Can a 5uF capacitor stand a voltage of 700V? Or am I doing something wrong?