RFID etc.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
Hi guys,

I am venturing into the realm o RF, more specifically I am doing my thesis on emulating an RFID card with 13.56MHz carrier frequency.

I wold appreciate if you could point me to some books etc. concerning antenna design (probably closed loop) and RF power transfer.

Also, I had this idea. Usually the RFID antenna circuit is a parallel LC resonator. But since the reader and card coils are in a configuration similar to a transformer, why does the receiver need to be in resonance, and can´t simply use just the inductor? Is it because without the capacitor there wouldn´t be enough voltage amplitude to power anything?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Wish I could help guy, but I don't know much. I have read articles on specialized chips for RFID, where they feed a really large binary number back.

I have also disassembled badges (sorry, no pictures) to see what made them tick. They had a coil inside the plastic edges that feed to a small chip and capacitor. I assume the chip had a diode, and charged the cap to power the chip.

As I understand it, and I could be wrong, is the chip / coil absorb the signal in a digital sort of way, imposing modulation on the carrier wave.

The same carrier wave frequency is also used at very high power levels for other industrial jobs, as it was set aside for by the FCC in the USA. Your country may differ. We use it for plasma ashers at 500W routinely in the clean room.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
Actually, I got some publications about the data modulation and other stuff relating to RFID in specific, so that is not a big problem.

Sadly my background in RF is very weak, so what I need is some publication on basic RF stuff, like EM filed in general, antenna calculations, air-coupled transformers and anything like that.

w2aew

Joined Jan 3, 2012
Hi guys,