Reversing a DC motor with microswitches

dingding

Joined Jul 23, 2008
hiya,

i am really new to electronics and this is my first project! i am trying to construct an automatic tripod head which will rotate through 180, change direction, head back to where it started then change direction again etc etc. the top of the tripod will have a beam on it which i am going to use to knock a microswitch with a lever on it in order to change the direction. I need to motor to spin slowly and have found one which is suitable, a single ratio 3000:1 gearbox motor. however i am unsure of how to make a circuit to control the lot. any ideas?
After looking around the internet for a little i think i need to make a H bridge. When the switch is hit i need the signal to stay on until the other switch is hit. i think i might need to use a r/s flip flop but can the activation of one switch set one flip flop whilst resetting another? hope this makes a bit of sense!
thanks,
alex

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Is it a DC motor? AC may be a bit trickier, depending on the type.

Do you want an electronic solution (e.g., one using an H-bridge, memory device, etc.) or will just limit switches at each extreme work for you. Here is a link to a Cherry datasheet for On/On DPDT limit switches.

Wiring switches is relatively easy, just think of how a 3-way light is wired.

John

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Suddenly reversing a DC motor that's running at top speed is going to be pretty hard on it. It would be a good idea to short both leads to ground, Vcc or each other for a second to brake it to a stop prior to reversing it.

Do you have a link to the motor you're considering purchasing?