Reverse polarity solenoid

grf500

Joined Aug 19, 2013
Hi all, new on here and hoping that someone will help me.
I want to run a motor in one direction, only for a second, using a momentary switch, then again in the opposite direction using the same switch. It is a small 12v motor very low current.
I am sure similar has been asked before and I have seen something using a couple of 555 timers, or a single 556 and two relays but cannot find it again.

grf500

Joined Aug 19, 2013
Thanks for the pointer. I should say that I have zero experience and know nothing about electronics in comparison to you guys, but I have a desire to learn.
I guess what I am after is using the timers as monostables, but its the single momentary switch to control it all that causes the difficulty.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
Hi all, new on here and hoping that someone will help me.
I want to run a motor in one direction, only for a second, using a momentary switch, then again in the opposite direction using the same switch. It is a small 12v motor very low current.
I am sure similar has been asked before and I have seen something using a couple of 555 timers, or a single 556 and two relays but cannot find it again.
So if I understand your first post -

1. turn on switch
2. motor runs in direction "A" for 1 second
3. motor then runs in opposite direction, until switch is shut off

Is the above sequence what you want to do? How close does the '1 second' have to be?

grf500

Joined Aug 19, 2013
So if I understand your first post -

1. turn on switch
2. motor runs in direction "A" for 1 second
3. motor then runs in opposite direction, until switch is shut off

Is the above sequence what you want to do? How close does the '1 second' have to be?
Hi Shortbus
Very close, what I want to achieve is

1. Momentary press switch
2. Motor runs forward for 1 second
3. Momentary press same switch
4. Motor runs in reverse for 1 second