Reverse Polarity on a motor

Bouffant1984

Joined Jan 26, 2007
I am a computing student and for a project my group are extending out of our normal field of knowledge and have built a motorised chair that rotates through 180 degrees. The chair moves by a belt/pulley mechanism from a (geared down) motor. The chair is to be rotated left and right by switching the polarity of the current running through the motor. It all mechanically works at the moment and will move the chair with someone sitting in it quite happily when connected up to the power. This is to be activated by two footswitches, one to go left and one to go right. They are just simple on/off switches and we can't change them. My question is how do we wire it all up electrically to get these footswitches operating the chairs movement? I think we need to use relays or something but I am not really sure as it’s been years since I have done anything like this, my knowledge is at a complete beginner level. Also we are dealing with a current of about 0.5 – 1 amp DC. Sometimes it peaks at 2 amps for a split second when the motor starts up. If you have any idea how to make this circuit I would greatly appreciate any help. I dont think this is that complex but please understand I have not done this stuff before.

Any help would be much appreciated :)

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
I would suggest using an H-bridge made of four MOS-FETs, two P and two N type.

What type exactly are the switches? DPST momentary switch would be the best solution.

Bouffant1984

Joined Jan 26, 2007
Im sorry im I dont really understand what any of that means! :p The switches arent anything special they are just foot pedals with an on/off mechansim - but we cant change them, we have to use them.

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005