Resistive heating

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
I am starting to build a battery powered heating system (similar to a vaporizer), and need to reach hot air temperatures of about 200-250°C.

Right now I am not too sure about the heating element that I will use, but I was thinking of using 1W or 2W resistor, do you guys think that it can withstand such temperature without failing? How long do you guesstimate that such resistor could work? I suppose it will be some wire-wiound type. Hope to get some real-world answers, as I am not too experienced in abusing resistors.

I don´t want to use resistive wire, because the lenght needed to get 10ohm would be too great for the confined space.
Also do you have any ideas for some thermistor that could withstand these tempereatures?

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
250* C is pretty darn hot, using common resistors is going to be hit and miss. Whatever you do choose a flameproof one, there are some nice ones in ceramic packages that may take that kind of abuse.

As mentioned above the sand filled resistors will also take some heat, how much would be in the spec sheets.

Obviously it's going to have to be a wirewound resistor, and one wrapped externally on a ceramic tube would be best.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
Looks like I am into some long-term testing..
What about the termistor? I want to be able to regulate the temperature, most probably just a simple discrete diff amp made of three transistors. Do you have any ideas for a thermistor that can safely go up to 250°C? And BTW what is the melting point of solder? It won´t be too good for the heater to desolder by itself :)

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010