Repair subwoofer Yamaha YST-SW320

krneki10

Joined Aug 4, 2012
I have several years old subwoofer Yamaha YST-SW320 which started to slowly die this week. At first, it was playing sound just like it should with some noise here and there. This noise has became more and more often and there were also several silent breaks. As of moment we are speaking, it will play sound only for a few seconds per minute.

Is there any way that I could fix it? Perhaps replacing capacitors could work? Please notice that I have limited knowledge in electronics.

Thanks for help.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Excuse me !

Mind pressing the cone while playing a low bass music and see if u can get the sound continuously when u tap or press the cone of the woofer.?

XerxesX24

Joined Sep 13, 2012
How is the subwoofer powered and what is it connected to?

Check your power/signal sources first as it's generally easier.

Excuse me !

Mind pressing the cone while playing a low bass music and see if u can get the sound continuously when u tap or press the cone of the woofer.?
Are you thinking of the flexible wire braid behind/underneath the cone's face?

If you aren't I am. lol.

Several times I soldered a flexible(ish) wire on to the face of a card cone as a bodge.

It's really tricky -- the card burns and the solder doesn't stick. (I didn't (and still don't) have any flux at the time)

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
I had a pair of speakers for about 37 years when the flexy wires to one woofer lost continuity. I tried to replace the wires but that didn't work.

The speakers spent many years in the basement where it is humid in summer. The flexy wires look corroded.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
The other speaker is 49 years old, is played for hours every day and still sounds like new.
Acoustic Research AR4AX.
The 8" woofer is in a sealed enclosure and resonates at about 60Hz.
I made a bass-boost circuit that makes it sound and feel like a sub-woofer.

XerxesX24

Joined Sep 13, 2012
Impressive!