Reliability, SS vs Mechanical

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Recent thread about SSR vs mechanical relay got me thinking. I have been replacing mechanical contactors for 40 years and find they die at about 250,000 cycles from pitting of the contacts. Apparently a solid state relay has an estimated lifetime of infinity because it has no contacts.

On the other hand, I've replaced 3 or 4 mercury bulb thermostats in 40 years but I've replaced 3 or 4 digital thermostats in ONE year and they aren't the most commonly used thermostats...yet.

I think this bears discussion in this chat forum. Why should I believe an SSR has an estimated lifetime far in excess of a mechanical relay when SS thermostats have such a miserable track record?

Anybody with real world experience?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
If a solid-state circuit is used comfortably within its operating limits it will operate for an indefinite time. But if the device is used close to or exceeding it's limits than it can fail in a short time period. Also there are other components (such as electrolytic capacitors) that often have a higher failure rate than the semiconductors in the circuit.

I've had SS thermostats that have operated for years without a problem. You have apparently had experience with some poorly designed ones.

An SSR should have a very long lifetime as long as it is used within its voltage and current ratings, and is connected to a proper heat sink to keeps its operating temperature below its rating at the highest ambient temperature it will see. (SS relays do dissipate some power due to the current through them and their forward voltage drop. Mechanical relays have a much lower drop.)

Joined Nov 30, 2010