Relay

tobyw

Joined Mar 21, 2013
I'd like to wire up a bedside table type lamp to a relay so that I can control it with a picaxe chip and an infrared remote.

I have never built anything with a relay before, and naturally I have a healthy respect for mains voltage.

So my question is...would this relay be suitable?

http://www.rapidonline.com/Electronic-Components/12v-Rudh-Series-12a-Spdt-Relay-60-4680

It seems to be rated for 250VAC and 12A, which seems ok.

My other questions is about wiring it up. Can I just solder the four pins to some stripboard, solder in some screw terminals, wire up the lamp cable to the screw terminals and put the whole thing into a sturdy plastic enclosure? Would the copper strip on the stripboard be capable of handling that current?

Thanks

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
Actually a 100 W bulb would have about
amps = 100 W / 115 V
amps = 0.9 amps
So your question is "Can the copper strips on the stripboard handle a 1 amp current?"

I'm not certain, but I would think that it can. Check with the datasheet for the product.
If you switch to compact fluorescence, it would be about 25 W (or less). The stripboard should be able to handle 250 milliamps.

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
I just realized that most of the current is only through the relay (which may not even use the stripboard). The voltage on most of the stripboard would be the reduced voltage (5V), so the current should not be more than 100 mA.

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
I can't imagine a bedside lamp drawing 100A. Even if that was the case though, the stripboard wires can carry several amps. I 'd bet up to 3A safely. We need thickness ratings to be sure, but calculators with standard values return that 6A need a 1.8mm wide wire..

tobyw

Joined Mar 21, 2013
I just realized that most of the current is only through the relay (which may not even use the stripboard). The voltage on most of the stripboard would be the reduced voltage (5V), so the current should not be more than 100 mA.