Relay Chatter

ssnaples

Joined Jul 14, 2012
I am resurrecting an old project that I started about a year ago, but could never get the circuit to function properly. I am a novice with electronics, but am willing to learn, so please be as detailed as possible with any advice and I will do my best to understand. What I am trying to do is take a pulsing signal and turn it into a steady signal that can make a relay go on and off. So what I have done is used an opamp (to increase the signal) with a comparator (to trigger the on/off value) and finally a transistor with a 12v relay to turn a motor on and off. The circuit works beautifully until I bring the motor into the equation. Without the motor, an LED will turn on an off as desired, but when I bring the motor into play, the relay chatters on and off. It is on and then motor moves to its desired position, then goes off, then back on and so forth.

Is there anyone that can look at my attached circuit diagram and breadboard diagram and help explain where I have gone wrong? It seems like the motor is bringing down the voltage and thus causing the chatter. I have read in other posts that you can add a cap to the relay coil, but I do not know what size cap or where to place it. I have also been told to add hysteresis, but thought that I already did. Any help with a diagram would be greatly appreciated. I am to the point where I am even willing to pay someone to help out. Any ideas??? Thanks in advance

Attachments

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Just curious - why didn't you just use the 12V supply and a single comparator to square up your signal? The voltage regulator does set the reference voltage for the comparator. Is the 12V not regulated?

The comparator has a high input impedance and I doubt the op-amp is helping.

Why not ditch the relay and its transistor use a MOSFET? The comparator could easily drive it directly.