Regulating a Full Bridge Switching Power Supply

Steelspin

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Hello,

I have a power supply problem that I've been working on for several months and haven't solved...I'm hoping someone on this forum can give me some suggestions. By the way--I'm a mechanical engineer (actually haven't even graduated yet), so my understanding of PWM and electronics in general is not too deep.

My senior project is retrofitting a six-axis robot with a new control system, which includes the power supplies. I need two voltages: 55VDC @ 10 Amps, and then 80VDC @ 20 Amps. These are weird voltages and high power requirements, and I can't afford to buy a one-off design. But, I'd still really like a switching power supply because it allows for variable input AC voltages (which is important for this robot), but still produces a constant DC voltage.

So, after a few hours of reading Power Supply Cookbook by Marty Brown our team decided we could build our own power supply. Even though we knew nothing about it. Haha, how young and arrogant we were! I wrote an excel spreadsheet to do the component calculations, we ordered the components, and soldered it up...

As I expected, the first time we plugged it in things blew up....all 4 of our MOSFETs cracked in half and jumped off the board. :p But I redesigned the gate driving section to include two isolation transformers and tried again, and this time SUCCESS! At least it appeared so... what is happening is that it will produce approximately 55 VDC, but under even the lightest load of like 0.5 amps the voltage drops like a rock down to 5-6 VDC. And yes, we do have a resistor across the output to maintain a slight load on the supply, though this isn't shown in my diagram.