Regulated DC Power Supply Help

mbxs3

Joined Oct 14, 2009
Hi everyone. I am a beginner electronics enthusiast and I am currently working on a regulated dc power supply. I am building it IAW a book I am reading called "Tab Electronics Guide to Understanding Electricity and Electronics". The power supply construction has gone very well and I thought I was about done when I ran into the problem I am having now. The power supply is built to provide positive and negative regulated dc power. I built the "positive" side of the circuit and everything worked as designed, so I mirrored the "negative" circuit from this, which is also what the book instructed to do. My issue is that the negative side of my power supply is not adjustable. I am getting -37vdc no matter what position P2 is in. I rechecked all my wiring and verified that no solder points were shorted across and everything was wired to where it needed to go. I also verified my transistors and potentiometer read out correctly with my DVM. What am I missing here? Thanks for any help. I have included the schematic I build my circuit off of. I can provide pics of the circuit card itself but I doubt it will be of much help because of all the wiring hiding the PCB.

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
What transistors did you use? I don't see the part numbers on the schematic, or values for any of the other components.

The negative side is almost a mirror of the positive side. There are differences. If you installed the diodes upside down, that would explain your difficulty. If you installed the caps backwards, they would be destroyed.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Start by taking voltage readings from ground to the cathodes of D2, D4, and D6. You should get about a 0.7v increase per diode; so about 0.7v, 1.4v, 2.1v - roughly.

mbxs3

Joined Oct 14, 2009
What transistors did you use? I don't see the part numbers on the schematic, or values for any of the other components.