Reed switch driven light switch

iamjacob

Joined Jul 30, 2013
Hello all.

I'm looking for some assistance with a circuit for a reed switch driven light switch. Let me start off by saying that I'm brand new to designing electronics so go easy on me.

I'm in the process of making a lighted jewelry cabinet for my wife and I want the lights to be controlled by a reed switch inside the door of the cabinet. Open the door and the lights come on, close the door and they shut off, like a refrigerator :D.

My idea is to have a N/O reed switch that controls an SPDT relay where the N/C side of the relay is connected to an LED strip that lights the cabinet. See crude diagram below....

Now here's my 2.... maybe 3 questions.

1. Am I even close? :confused:

2. Is there anything I need to add between the input side of the reed switch and the power source to keep it from burning up?
3. I was hoping to use a solid state relay so that I don't hear a click when the cabinet door opens. How do I know what relay specs I need?

Sorry for the crude diagram.

Reed Switch - http://www.clrwtr.com/PDF/GE-Security/Sentrol-R1075-Press-Fit-Mini-Max-Contacts.pdf

LED Strip - http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Cool-Wh...2V-/181135629221?ssPageName=ADME:L:OC:US:3160

Wall Wart - Came with the LED Strip

Possible Relay ???

Anything else ???

Thanks a ton in advance.

Jake

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I don't know where you will find a 72W wallwart except maybe a laptop charger.
Why not eliminate the relay and use a switch alone with the proper current rating?

iamjacob

Joined Jul 30, 2013
The wall wart was purchased in the same auction as the LED strip. I don't have the specs on it other than what was posted in the auction. I'll have it probably tomorrow to look at it.

I haven't been able to find a reed switch that is form b (NC) that is rated for 3A. I'm pretty new to electronics so maybe I just don't know what to look for.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010