Recommended components/tools for a beginner

dublem

Joined May 2, 2012
I want to start building circuits, but am not sure where to begin in terms of which components and tools to buy. There seem to be a vast array of kits available (as well as makes for individual components!), and I'm reluctant to spend too much money without being fairly sure that what I'm getting is what I'm going to need (or at least find useful). A bit of help would be much appreciated!

To provide a bit more info, the area that really captures me is logic circuit design, from basic logic gate components to projects involving microcontrollers etc... I'm currently studying Computer Science and have been working through 'The Elements of Computer Systems', which takes you through building a basic 16-bit computer from NAND gates using a VHDL-like language. Ultimately, I aspire to implement something along those lines in actual hardware. (I'd also eventually love to build an autonomous quadcopter and a usable wind turbine...)

I'll have plenty of time over the summer, and want to really understand the gritty depths, so 'user-friendliness' isn't a top priority, especially if it comes at the price of a deeper understanding of how what your using works.

So what would be awesome is maybe a list of components/tools that you would recommend for a beginner wanting to head in the sort of direction I've suggested. Thank you!

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Get a solderless breadboard. A single board will do.

http://www.digikey.ca/product-detail/en/TW-E40-1020/438-1045-ND/643111

9V battery
9V battery clip

one or more LEDs
one or more resistors: 220, 270, 330, 470, 1k, 2.2k, 4.7k, 10k ohm
two or more capacitors 0.1μF, 1μF, 10μF

TLC555 Timer IC

one each:
4001 NOR gates
4011 NAND gates
4071 OR gates
4081 AND gates
4069 Hex inverters

Total cost: US$20 max (my estimate)

Later you want to buy resistors and capacitors in sets or bulk to cut costs.

Last edited:

jwilk13

Joined Jun 15, 2011
Welcome to AAC!