Rear Bicycle Brake Light

crepa

Joined Jun 17, 2012
Hello, I'm relatively new to electronics so I apologize if my questions are a little bit basic.

Now to the project. I have a break light for my bike with 4 LEDs (see picture). First I would like some help to draw the circuit diagram based on the printed circuit board and the picture to identify the components. I've numbered some elements that I've identified in the picture:
1)switch that goes to the bicycle brake
2)BC547B - NPN transistor
3)22 microF capacitor
4)22 Kohm resistor
5)27 ohm resistor
6)1N4148 diode

Numbering the LEDs from left to the right 1 2 3 4, one can see that LEDs 1 and 2 are blinking alternately and so are LEDs 3 and 4 when all the LEDs are on. When I brake (or push the switch) they all start to blink together.

So what I would like to do is to modify the circuit to have all LEDs on at the same time and when I brake they brighten up a little just like a automobile break light.

Thank you in advance,
Gabriel

Attachments

stoopkid

Joined Mar 3, 2011
You would probably want to use a 555 timer to do this. This circuitboard would probably be pretty much useless. It would be less of a modification and more of a total rebuild.

Then again you may be able to coax it into doing what you want, but someone more experienced would have to figure that out. I guess if you made them alternate fast enough that would be like a 50%PWM, then the brake switch could just power them all at once.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Here's an idea.
Edit: You could just short out R2 with the brake switch instead of using a transistor.
Sorry. Had a brain failure while I was drawing.

Attachments

crepa

Joined Jun 17, 2012
Here's an idea.
Edit: You could just short out R2 with the brake switch instead of using a transistor.
Sorry. Had a brain failure while I was drawing.