Real Time programming

JMac3108

Joined Aug 16, 2010
I'm an experienced hardware design engineer that has recently been venturing into microcontrollers. I have a good understanding of how they work, and have become an almost adequate C programmer of micros.

Where I'm lacking, and the subject of my question, is structuring my applications. I called the thread "real time" but I do not necessarily mean highly accurate real time programming. I'm talking typical things micros do - reading keypad or other inputs, updating an LCD, reading sensors, responding to serial communications, turning on and off external devices, etc...

Being a hardware guy, I naturally gravitate toward state machines. But an application made up of a large case statement state machine can quickly get out of hand. And I've programmed myself into a corner more than once.

I'm not looking for off-the-shelf RTOS's. What I'm looking for is a source or reference where I can get myself up-to-speed on how to structure my applications. I want to know the basic ways others are doing this and the pros and cons of them.

Can anyone point me to a good resource to get where I want to go?

Thanks.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
I think you are on the right track! All of my embedded stuff (mostly PIC, lots of different projects) uses cooperative-multitasking, no matter how 'simple' the task.

CONS include a steeper learning curve. The basic kernel provides task-switching/scheduling, timer services, processor management etc. This means writing a framework that provides these services and providing a standard task design that operates under the kernel.