Raspberry PI 4 using multiple USARTS for different purposes.

zazas321

Joined Nov 29, 2015
Hey. I would like to clarify something regarding the USART on the raspberry pi 4. I have connected a stationary barcode scanner to one of the USB ports and it appeared as ttyACM0 on my raspberry PI. I am able to send serial commands and everything seems to be working as expected. I am assuming that ACM0, 0 at the end means that it is connected to USART0?

I want to connect to a RS485 driver to my raspberry PI and communicate with other modbus slaves. Assuming that USART0 is already occupied by my scanner , I need to connect my RS485 driver to any other USART?

The problem is that I was able to find little to none information on how to implemented and activate USART2, 3, 4 peripherals on Raspberry PI. Have anyone else got any experience on that and would be able to share some information?

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
I am not an expert, Have Pi3 not Pi4.
I think the USB port is appearing as a serial port but is not using a physical (hardware) port. On my PC I have "serial ports" that are USB ports talking to micro-computers. I only have 2 real serial ports in hardware but Windows see all the ports as serial. On the PC there is a driver that turns some USB ports into "com:9" and "com:8" etc.
I think you have not used a USART with the USB port.
Again, not an expert and am often wrong!

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
I am not an expert, Have Pi3 not Pi4.
I think the USB port is appearing as a serial port but is not using a physical (hardware) port. On my PC I have "serial ports" that are USB ports talking to micro-computers. I only have 2 real serial ports in hardware but Windows see all the ports as serial. On the PC there is a driver that turns some USB ports into "com:9" and "com:8" etc.
I think you have not used a USART with the USB port.
Again, not an expert and am often wrong!