railway project

new voodoo

Joined Jul 25, 2013
Do you mean hobby/toy trains? or real ones? I would assume the former because the latter would obviously be more of a question for railway engineers..but there are hundreds of possibilities I can think of..and im not that experienced.
just a few offhand:
-sensors: pressure, PIR, any number of types would tell you when theyre at the same pt ,etc
-beam interruption: IR, laser, typical visible freq light, etc-whenever its interrupted you could stop the train, and if the beam is at one place going across both tracks..or two beams 100 meters apart in same line.

you could google, say, pressure sensor or IR emitter, etc and easily find something. I saw an inexpensive exterior-purposed beam on sale at, I think, AllElectronics or electronicssurplus.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I hope they ARE hobby units at 100m apart, not full size units heading toward each other! :eek:
Some kind of radio or wireless detection method might work, I am assuming that it has to work on any track, not just a pre-assigned section?
Max.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
In the future please put a little more effort into constructing a complete and detailed question.

How about 50m rubber bumpers attached to each train? :p

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
I think OP means that the trains should come no closer together than 100m, so the system should take speed and braking distance into account, so the rubber bumpers would need to be a bit longer :p

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If we were talking full size locomotive, 100m would in most cases, be out of the question, a lot depends on speed, grade, amount of cars/ loaded/unloaded, but the conservative average for a typical made up train could be around 1 mile stopping distance.
Max.

donpetru

Joined Nov 14, 2008
i needed assistance for the project to stop the trains automatically on the same track 100 meters apart.