Radio Frustration

tobyw

Joined Mar 21, 2013
I am new to electronics and radio, but I have managed to create a basic receiver which looks like the attached circuit. The main radio part is all on a breadboard, the LM386 is on a breakout board soldered together with 3 header pins to attach with jump wires to the radio receiver.

When I attach my aerial (several feet of wire) I can pick up stations quite loudly and all is good. However, there are some things which confuse me, and I am hoping someone might be able to explain.

• How can I remove the low hum in my circuit? It disappears when I touch the metal handle of the potentiometer volume control
  • If I remove the lead connecting the output from the transistor to the LM386 breakout board, and just hold it by the insulated part (not the end), not only can I still hear the radio station, but I can hear it LOUDER. How is this possible?!
  • If I remove the coil, I can pick up Romanian English language radio. But only that station. Again, how is this possible since the oscillator is gone? Is it just reacting with the overall impedance of the circuit?

Any light that anyone can shed on these questions I'd be grateful. It's confusing me a bit..

Attachments

Last edited:

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
One thing, you need a coupling cap between the LM386 output and the speaker. At least a 220uf or larger electrolytic would work.

What are you using for a power supply and what is the voltage ?

tobyw

Joined Mar 21, 2013
You are right Tubeguy - I knew I would mess up the schematic somehow. I do have a 220uF cap between the LM386 output and the earphones. I have updated the image to reflect this.

I am using a 5v battery. It's all working fine as far as getting stations, just the hum and the weirdness!

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008
At radio frequencies, all kinds of components exist that are not drawn neatly on the schematic.