Questions on regulator circuit

Zeebit

Joined Nov 8, 2013
I'm just starting to learn electronics as my hobby and as usual, I will start out by making my own power supply even if I don't know how the circuitry works.

What does R3 do? Say I change the current adjust pot to 150K to give a max current output of 3A, does R3 stay the same?

Correct link below.

Last edited:

Metalmann

Joined Dec 8, 2012
I'm just starting to learn electronics as my hobby and as usual, I will start out by making my own power supply even if I don't know how the circuitry works.

http://www.quan-diy.com/projects/benchps/psschem.GIF

What does R3 do? Say I change the current adjust pot to 150K to give a max current output of 3A, does R3 stay the same?

Hilarious, except for the Rumsfeld (War Mongerer) part.
That guy, (and his buddies); needs tried for war crimes.
No if, ands, or buts.

Zeebit

Joined Nov 8, 2013
What is your guess?

Also, why do you need 5A when you are just getting into electronics? eBay types of projects do you plan?
Like I said, I will make it into a 3A supply by changing the current adjust pot from 250k to 150k.

My guess is that R3 remains the same. I do not know why though.:p

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
R3 is current sensing resistor. The large the output current the large the voltage drop across this resistor. And when this voltage drop is large enough, the op amp comes to play and circuit act just like a current source (CC mode).
And this current is equal to
Isc = Vref* R2/(R3 + R5) + Vbe/R1 = 1.25V*R2/(R3+R5) + Vbe/R1 = 1.25V*150K/(330K * 0.2) + 0.7V/33 = 2.9A

In CV mode the output voltage is equal to Vout = 1.25V*(1+ R8/R6).
We have CV mode when I_load < Isc.

Last edited:

Zeebit

Joined Nov 8, 2013
Thanks for the explanation. I really have a lot of studying to do.

Also, based on the schematic, why is there a drop of 5V from input to output?

Dr.killjoy

Joined Apr 28, 2013
Thanks for the explanation. I really have a lot of studying to do.