Question about wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

KillChaos

Joined Jun 23, 2014
Hello everyone, I'm new to the site and was hoping to get some help! I originally posted this question on a Toyota Celica car forum but I am not getting any responses, most likely because it is more to do with electronics in general and not the actual car.

I have a 2000 Toyota Celica GT. I am attempting to get my radiator cooling fans working, using a work-around.

I am an extreme novice in regards to wiring and was hoping an idea like this might work, but I do not know for sure, please let me know if you have any suggestions on how to improve what I am trying to do.

This is the link to where you can view the image if it doesn't work:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rnwlomfhmvht4ug/3.png

If the picture is hard to understand:
I am wanting to wire both of my single cooling fans together, into the interior of my car so I can use a switch to choose whether or not I want the fans on. The switch will then be connected to an inline fuse, which will be connected to the battery of the car (or some place else...any suggestions?).

One major concern I am having is this...
The fans are stock fans, which I have no idea how many amps they are each, but I am going to just assume for now that they are both 7.5 amps.
The current switch I have is 1.5 amps.
The inline fuse I have is 30amps.
The first problem I feel as though I would encounter is that the fans would be pulling the power they need through the 1.5 amp switch. If the fans are drawing at least 15amps total, wouldn't that fry the switch since it can only handle 1.5 amps? If this is true, do I just need to locate a switch that can handle 15+ amps?
Also, should I use a 2, 3, or 4 pin switch/button? A link to one I should get would be optimal if possible please! :)

Please let me know any information or links you could provide me to help me in fixing my current problem. Thank you very much!

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010