Question about using transistor as switch

gotchford

Joined Sep 5, 2013
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post. I stumbled across All About Circuits while seeking information on various transistor types and how I could use them. Although I have some experience with TTL circuits, I'm more or less a novice when it comes to anything else, circuit-wise. Thus the reading I've been doing. Please pardon the newbie question and feel free to suggest any reading materials on the subject. Now to the point..

I have a very simple circuit (attached). A battery supplies current through a protective resistor to a series of 5 LEDs. The diagram mistakenly shows 6. There are only 5.

What I'd like to do is design an augmentation to this circuit that enables me to blink the current flowing through the LED circuit, essentially replacing S1. I recognize that any additional circuitry would require current, most likely imply more battery capacity, and perhaps modify the existing, simple circuitry.

I've been reading about how Bi-Polar transistors can be used to control the flow of current in a larger circuit. I then found a flasher circuit by Forest Mimms that utilizes a pair of BP transistors buffered by a couple R-C arrangements to achieve current oscillation. I also found pages talking about using Unijunction transistors and MOSFETs as switches.

I'm lost as to which is most appropriate. Perhaps somebody on the forum can point me in a direction. I'm not against experimentation and was on the hairy edge of just ordering some parts and playing around, but figured I'd ask for advice before wasting money and time.

Thank you for any insight you can offer.

-Chris

Attachments

Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I think you should start with a single transistor and learn how it works before moving on to a "blinky" circuit.

If you use a normal NPN transistor (BJT, bi-polar junction transistor), it would replace the switch. Emitter to battery "-". Collector to the resistor.