Question about Electronics/Bench Technician Job

jecowan

Joined Feb 8, 2011
I have a degree in electronics technology, I graduated in 2009 and have been looking for jobs since I graduated. I have found an electronics/bench technician position that I want to apply for. Is a bench technician an entry-level job? and what all do bench technician do? I want to make sure I can do this job before I apply for it and go to an interview. Its been almost 2 years since I graduated so I am trying to go over things I have learned and keep information fresh so when I get a job I know what i am doing. any advice.... thanks

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
I use the job application/interview process as an exploration tool more often than trying to find a job. It gives me an opportunity to talk with people and get to know thier needs, a bit about their operations, quality of work being offered in general, industry trends, and economic indicators.

If you feel you have the basic pre qualifications, go in and talk to them, that way you'll know for sure.

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
In my opinion, an organisation recruiting for a technician post would probably put more emphasis on recent relevant experience than on academic qualifications. On the other hand, for some jobs specific technician certificates could be required. To find out if your qualifications would be acceptable, you would really have to make an application. Depending on their policies, and the exact mature of the job, the management may even decide that you are too well qualified, and therefore would not be so well motivated.

This may be less of a problem in some countries than others. The normal level of qualifications has also tended to increase over time, so I may be out of date here. When I was training, basic degrees were just about becoming mandatory for engineers, whereas most technicians would have considerably lower qualifications. Things may have changed a lot since then.