Question about batteries

Amaterasuu

Joined Oct 10, 2010
Hello, I'm new to this material so please have patience.
From what I understand, the anode of a battery is in a surplus of electrons.
Since the cathode is in a deficiency, the electrons in the anode are attracted to the cathode (simplified a lot)
Why do the electrons in the anode insist on going to the cathode in the first place? What would happen if I place a positively charged material(for instance, the cathode of another battery!) onto the anode of a battery, would the anode still unload the electrons?
If so, how do connected batteries work? (connected in serial)
Thank you for your time

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
It's not particularly helpful to look at whether there is a surplus or absence of electrons at a particular battery electrode. The number of electrons really does not change at a battery terminal due to battery voltage, they just move from anode to cathode when an external circuit path is completed across the battery terminals.

A battery generates a voltage (electromotive force) due to a electro-chemical reaction of the battery internal chemical compounds. This voltage will cause electrons to leave the anode (more negative terminal) and flow to the cathode (more positive terminal) when there is a complete external circuit from anode to cathode. If there is no complete circuit, the electrons just sit there (it's somewhat like the water in a pressurized pipe with the faucet closed). If you place two batteries in series (anode of one to cathode of the other) then the voltages of the two batteries simply add together. That's how higher voltage batteries are made -- for example a 12V auto battery consists of six separate cells in series.

Amaterasuu

Joined Oct 10, 2010
If you place two batteries in series (anode of one to cathode of the other) then the voltages of the two batteries simply add together.
First of all, thank you for the verbose reply.