Qualifying 120VAC wall outlet current for a C&Q of pharmesuticle manufactoring facility

jabomers

Joined Oct 4, 2023
Hello all

I have been an electrical engineer in manufacturing for the auto industry for 10 years and 3 years in the pharmaceutical industry. Recently I have been asked by the head of our companies Quality Assurance department to run a qualification analysis(C&Q) on the 120VAC wall plugs in one of our rooms. They want to know what Voltage and what Current the wall outlet is outputting without any devices plugged into them. This would verify the wall outlet meets the electrical statics required by the machines. In the pharmaceutical industry it is very common to have to verify every last detail of every thing with calibrated equipment.

However I have never been asked to verify the output current of a wall receptacle while nothing is plugged into it. This QA person will not budge they say I need to measure the current in the wall receptacle with a calibrated multi meter, They "have been in the pharmaceutical field for 20+ years and have never had anyone say they cannot measure current from an empty 120VAC wall receptacle".

Am I missing something here? is there some way to measure the current in the way they are asking? Does anyone else have experience with this in the pharmaceutical industry?

Thank you in advance for any help

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
How do you intend measuring a current when no load is present?
Does not make much sense?
What qualifications does the QA person have?
Possibly they mean measure/test it at the rated current capacity ??

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
This QA person will not budge they say I need to measure the current in the wall receptacle with a calibrated multi meter, They "have been in the pharmaceutical field for 20+ years and have never had anyone say they cannot measure current from an empty 120VAC wall receptacle".