PWM with MCU's

Shagas

Joined May 13, 2013
Hello ,

I'm a beginner to Microcontrollers .
I've chosen Atmel AVR and i've been playing with them for a few days now.
Currently using the atmega48

Question #1 :

Why are there special 'modes' for PWM ? Why do I have to activate some 'fast pwm' registers or 'waveform generation mode' or those things ?

Is it not practical to just assign whatever output (PORTB for example) and use PWM using _delay_ms() ?
Edit: Or does "PWM Mode" make things simpler in a way ?

Also , what is meant by a 10 bit PWM ? I'm assuming that it means a duty cycle resolution of about 0.1% hmm?

Thanks in advance for the answers

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Sure you can implement PWM with output to a port and time delays.
But what happens when your code has to do something in between outputs?
Your PWM timing is going to get messed up and will not be very stable.

That is what PWM timer modes are for. The timer hardware takes care of generating consistent and stable time delays while the code can go off and do something else.

10-bit PWM means that the timer register is 10 bits wide. It can count from 0 to 1023.
Yes, that means that your PWM signal can be adjusted to a resolution of 0.1%.

Shagas

Joined May 13, 2013
Okay , makes sense.

So while i'm running other code my timer independantly generates PWM . But i'm assuming that the timer itself generates a fixed PWM for example say 50% duty cycle at 1khz. So if I want to change that I have to wait until the micro finishes executing whatever other stuff it's doing , and then update the PWM by sending data to the PWM hardware
am I right?

Thanks for the answer MRchips

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Okay , makes sense.