PWM mosfet to drive induction coil and handle the collapse without suppressing it

clone477

Joined Oct 3, 2008
Have been over the site and it has alot of great info on here...
I am a automotive technician by trade, I do alot of work with electrical problems but have only designed a few circuits before......

I need to build a PWM circuit, with frequency and pulse width adjustments. From my research that I have done, I will need to use a mosfet to drive my high induction coil, and I will need optical isolation to protect my circuit. It was recommended to me to NOT use a 555 based timer for this, what other option is there for this??

Also is the mosfet is powered separate from the timer part of the circuit?? What is the voltage and current the mosfet can handle through it??

NOW FOR MY MAIN CONCERN....
I do not want to suppress the discharge from the colapse of my inductor, thats why I need the optical isolator. Im doing experiment with colapse discharge. How can I design the circuit to not be destroyed by the collapse without using diodes or capacitors.

I will need a upper frequency of maybe 80k , thats an estimate not for sure. Voltage and amperage are not determined yet, But Im guessing the larger mosfet I get the better for handling the coil collapse asnd not destroying it. I also assume that I will need a heat sink for the mosfet??

Thanks for any help guys, if someone could just reccomend some componants, and maybe link me to a wiring diagram, I have tried searching with not much luck.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
There are lot of different MOSFETs in the market, each one with its characteristics. You have to tell us the voltage and current requirements of your coil to tell you an appropriate MOSFET.