Proprietary hardware

jamus

Joined Feb 11, 2013
Would it be legal to sell a product that interfaces to proprietary hardware (scientific instruments etc)?

The connector I am trying to interface to is listed in the manual as being 'proprietary' (not in connector type, just non standard in pinout).

sirch2

Joined Jan 21, 2013
You might be in breach of a patent or registered design but that would seem unlikely if it is a standard connector.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
I'm no expert on the legal aspects, but it would seem that if the connector is available to the outside world then it would be legal to connect to it. It may however, invalidate the warranty for the instrument you are connecting to. You would have to look at the warranty to see if there are any such limitations.

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
It should be legal to make a product that plugs into an external connector on someone else's product and interfaces with it.

I think they would have a very hard time trying to sue you over that. Although they might try to bluff you.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Would it be legal to sell a product that interfaces to proprietary hardware (scientific instruments etc)?

The connector I am trying to interface to is listed in the manual as being 'proprietary' (not in connector type, just non standard in pinout).
I am quite sure what you want to do will fell under the term "reverse engineering" and "interoperability" See this site and serch for interoperability http://www.chillingeffects.org/reverse/faq.cgi#QID193. In short you are allowed to do want want to do.
You can also look at this search
http://www.google.com/search?q=reverse+engineering+interoperability

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
You should buy their 'proprietary' connector and use that for insurance against legal claims.

AFTER THAT. Anything the companies salable product provides to the 'end user' in the form of 'output' is yours to do with as you see fit.