Proportional heat control?

Trenatos

Joined Mar 23, 2012
Hi,

I'm new to the forums, I've got a question that I can't figure out on my own.
The plan is to build a multi-channel proportional heat controller.
But I can't figure out where to start with the actual controller part.
I need to be able to control the amount of heat given off by for example flexwatt by controlling the amount of juice going into it.

I've found some info on making light dimmers and such but they seem to be for max 100 watts, and I think some of the heat stuff might need up to 300-400 watts per device.

The microcontroller of choice is Teensy 2.0

I'm not asking anyone to do my work for me, but a prod in the right direction would be greatly appreciated, as I've never done any 120v stuff before.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
The easiest way is sometimes called "bang-bang" control, which is how many house thermostats work. If the temperature goes below a certain setting, the controller goes on (bang). If the temperature goes above a certain setting, the controller goes off (bang).

That makes the electronics simpler too as you could use something like a relay.

A true proportional control is a bit advanced to design, can be dangerous to work with, could cause a fire (literally), and probably violates the TOS here, so I hope the simple way works for you.

Trenatos

Joined Mar 23, 2012
Hi Ernie,

The aim is to create a true proportional controller, I can use relays for a first design while testing out other parts of the system but not for the long run.

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
I'm not sure that you can use "proportional control" if what it means is feeding a reduced voltage to a heater when you're running off the power line. You'd need to be able to dissipate lots of power, i.e. if your heater wants 20 volts, you'd have to drop 100 volts in your electronics.