Project on 16f877

Rushan

Joined Nov 20, 2013
Hi all,
I'm new to this forum & this is my first post.I'm doing a project using 16f877.I am new to pic programming.So please tell me how can i learn to program this MC in c language.I want to send data to LCD and interface with serial port also.Please tell me which software i should use to code and help me to learn relavent syntax.
Thank you.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Is this some schoolwork? If so those tool that are common in classes. If not I would suggest MPLAB and Microchip XC8 compiler. The latter tools are free to download and use.

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
The Microchip compiler works, but I hate the "sneerware" aspect of it. Every time it runs, it reminds you how much better the code could be, if you only got the paid-for version of the program. Or is there a way to turn this function off?

I use the BoostC compiler. It's nothing fancy, but it does the job.

Rushan

Joined Nov 20, 2013
Thank you all for helping.I'm a computer engineering student.This is a my side project.This is my first micro controller based project.I have MPLAB. Can i use MPLAB for using C language?please give me a source to learn programming PIC16f877 using C.
my project has following features...
*This is digital Voting system.I get authentication using the fingerprint scanner.
*Then using 3 push buttons voters can vote for 3 candidates.
*It counts the votes and write them to the LCD.
I have designed the circuit diagram.Now i want to program the MC using C language.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Thank you all for helping.I'm a computer engineering student.This is a my side project.This is my first micro controller based project.I have MPLAB. Can i use MPLAB for using C language?please give me a source to learn programming PIC16f877 using C.
my project has following features...
*This is digital Voting system.I get authentication using the fingerprint scanner.
*Then using 3 push buttons voters can vote for 3 candidates.