Project Help/Direction

maz719

Joined Feb 23, 2009
Hey guys, I've googled a lot of broad topics and I'm here to ask for a little advice, or direction - as I am a tad bit confused about how to implement certain things.

I am currently in my last year for my aerospace engineering degree at ucf, and for my senior design project the last piece that we need in order for it to work is a circuit that can amplify a signal. Now the signal is coming from a separate board that uses PWM to send voltage from 0 to 3.3V, and 0 to 132mA (varying by duty cycle 0~100%). This board was premade by Rabbit, so we are avoiding modifying it. The power is output to a magentic torque coil (just a wire wrapped around a square) so we are adjusting the power through them regularly from the Rabbit board, and we need to be able to range from 0W to the maximum power (currently 436mW).

Basically I'm asking for the best way to take the power output of the Rabbit boardv(436mW) and amplify it. Keep in mind that the entire contents of the Rabbit Board, and this circuit must fit in a 10cm x 10cm x 10cm cube, so components that would all fit on a breadboard are preferred.

Also, for now we can only run everything off of a 9V battery. This may change later.

I have tried to use a NPN transistor, but I couldn't find the best way to wire it so that in the end there was more than 436mW. I also tried to use an op-amp (TL082CP) but it looks like it requires 15VDC, which I don't know how to get from 9V (please forgive me if this is noobish, it's been a while since I took an EE class).

If anyone has any ideas of how to take the power from the Rabbit board and generate a larger power somehow (even it it's larger by 50mW - its still acceptable) please let me know. I am lost in reading many forums and chapters of ebooks and any help from you guys would be greatly appreciated.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007