Programmable IC for leds

c.marsh

Joined May 16, 2009
Hi everyone,

I'm a little new to this sort of stuff so please bare with me.

I have an arduino Uno board and software and I have a little experience with programming on that.

I spend my hobby time doing scale models of various sci fi and motorcycle based stuff. Usually I use hardware like 555 timer chips to control lighting and so on, but I'm starting a new project, a 1/6 scale motorcycle which I would really like to have all the lights working on it.

So I was thinking of a tiny circuit with an IC at its heart controlling the lighting in cycles,

for example:

Power on
Head light comes on dipped beam
rear light comes on
<time lapse 2 minutes>
left indicators turn on <time on 15 seconds>
rear brake turns on for 1 second, off for 2 seconds on for 1 second
Left indicators turn off
<time lapse 2 minutes>
right indicators turn on <time lapse 15 seconds>
rear brake turns on for 1 second, off for 2 seconds on for 1 second
right indicators turn off
<time lapse 2 minutes>
headlight turns to high beam
<Time lapse 2 minutes>
headlight turns to dipped beam
<Return to beginning of program and loop until turned off?

Now I can do with real easy on the arduino as I have some code put together for control star trek federation star ships lighting and its pretty universal for this kind of lighting projects.

The thing is, the arduino is complete and utter overkill for this kind of thing and far to big to go inside a 1/6 scale motorcycle tank/engine casings.

So I was wondering if anyone knows of an IC/microchip that I can program using the arduino sketch to control the lights?

i guess it would need the following channels:

1 - headlight dipped beam
2 - headlight full beam
3 - rear light
4 - rear brake
5 - left indicators
6 - right indicators

As i said, im new to programmable IC's and any help would be greatly appreciated.