Problems with confidence

sonofptolemy

Joined Nov 10, 2011
Hi guys,
I just want to get a general feel about how others view my situation.

I graduated with a B.S. in CE with emphasis in Computer Systems and Mechatronics back in 2008.

In case you are unfamiliar, we are just about 50% EE's and 50% CS in our curriculum.

I graduated right into the recession and COULD NOT for the life of me find a job, let alone one that utilized my skills.

I finally landed one in 2010 as a Electronics Manufacturing Engineer and got my hands dirty right away with troubleshooting and identifying electronics failures, dealing with our vendors and implementing certain processes to handle issues.

The basics of Electronics has stuck with me and I have been able to utilize it to do my job and to get promotions.

Now I am at a very embarrassing point in my career; I'm having difficulty with remembering the more tedious electronics design lessons that I spent hundreds of hours learning in school. I blame this on three things,

#1 is the fact that I was out of practice completely for 2 years after graduation.
#2 the nature of modern schooling methods that teach you more how to think than how to utilize real world technology. When I complained about this in school I was told that "you will pick that up later".
#3 the EE's that I work with are old guys that are ABSOLUTELY NOT team players which is completely different from my college experience which was team driven, forthcoming (we helped eachother), benevolent, and just very open.